Email Artswrap on Twitter Artswrap on Facebook

Fiction

The Art of Neil Gaiman - Hayley Campbell

Novelist, comics writer, scriptwriter, poet, occasional artist - a master of several genres and inadvertent leader of many cults - there are few creative avenues Neil Gaiman hasn't ventured down. From unforgettable books like The Ocean at the End of the L

The Dark Meadow - Andrea Maria Schenkel

At the end of the war, Afra Zauner returns to her parents' cottage on the edge of Mauther Forest. Unmarried, and pregnant. As she struggles to raise her child, her father's shame, her mother's fury and the loud whispers of the neighbours begin to weigh up

Thirst, by Kerry Hudson - book review

In Kerry Hudson’s accomplished second novel, a security guard catches a young shoplifter in the act and they drift first into a tentative friendship and then an uneasy relationship in which neither can entirely trust the other. The story of a trafficked

The Art Of Neil Gaiman, by Hayley Campbell - book review

We all know Neil Gaiman, even if we don’t read comics or fantasy novels, or watch Doctor Who or blockbuster movies. He’s the rock-star author who always dresses in black, the English guy America has claimed as one of its own. He’s the man with two m

After Me Comes The Flood, by Sarah Perry - book review

One day in an endlessly hot summer, John Cole heads to Norfolk to visit his brother; he gets lost, seeks help.

This One Is Mine by Maria Semple review Nothing is ever really at stake'

Fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette will be disappointed by the weak characterisation of Semple's first effort, originally published in 2008This One Is Mine is Maria Semple's first novel, the book she published before her funny, dark, tender hit, Where'd Y

Off Key - Mark Robertson

In 1994 Mark Robertson had his closest brush with fame when he 'became' the first drummer for legendary 'Girls Aloud' singer and X Factor judge Cheryl Cole. At the time Cheryl was eight years old and performing in The Whitley Bay Am-Dram Panto. Twelve yea

The Dark Meadow review Andrea Maria Schenkel's murder mystery 'packs a lingering punch'

Schenkel returns with an excellent dark tale set in rural community and based on real eventsAndrea Maria Schenkel's debut, the short, brutal The Murder Farm, told of a murdered family in a German village after the second world war: old man Danner, his wif

The Arsonist by Sue Miller, review: 'moving and mysterious'

Catherine Blyth on Sue Miller's 'The Arsonist', a profoundly satisfying novel about a long, hot American summer

Randall by Jonathan Gibbs review 'every bit as cute as the art it caricatures'

Jonathan Gibbs's satirical YBA-era debut marries fiction and art criticism without short-changing eitherIn 1989, two years after graduating from Goldsmiths, Damien Hirst was hit by a train and killed. So runs the counterfactual premise of this satirical b