Email Artswrap on Twitter Artswrap on Facebook

Graphic Novels

Fatherland by Nina Bunjevac review

Nina Bunjevac's second graphic novel does not shy away from brutality, and proves a fine introduction to the Balkans' troubled history.

Fatherland - Nina Bunjevac

In 1975 Nina Bunjevac's mother fled her marriage and her adopted country of Canada and took Nina back to Yugoslavia to live with her parents. Peter, her husband, was a fanatical Serbian nationalist who had been forced to leave his country at the end of Wo

Book review: IDP: 2043

IT’S 2043 and global warming has put many of today’s communities under water. Populations have taken to the high ground, and in Scotland, New Wanlockhead is the location of Sky Farm, a hi-tech tower where new ways of feeding people are pioneered. Thin

IDP: 2043: A Graphic Novel - Mary Talbot, Hannah Berry, Irvine Welsh, Barroux, Pat Mills, Dan McDaid

A graphic novel in collaboration with the Edinburgh International Book Festival to mark its 30th anniversary, IDP (short for 'internally displaced person or persons') imagines a Scotland 30 years in the future. Six teams of major names in European comics

Through the Woods - Emily Carroll

A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boyand the works of Neil Gaiman. 'It came from the woods. Most strange things do.' Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (a

Seconds - Bryan Lee O'Malley

Katie's got it pretty good. She's a talented young chef, she runs a successful restaurant, and she has big plans to open an even better one. Then, all at once, progress on the new location bogs down, her charming ex-boyfriend pops up, her fling with anoth

Legends of the Tour - Jan Cleijne

Beautiful and unique graphic novel that captures the heroes and legends of 100 years of the Tour de France.

The Cigar That Fell in Love With a Pipe - David Camus

On the eve of the release of his latest movie, The Lady From Shanghai, Orson Welles receives a gift: an admirer has sent him a box of cigars. Rich and full-bodied, they are the finest he's ever tasted. But then, these are no ordinary cigars: they've been

The Cigar That Fell in Love With a Pipe review David Camus and Nick Abadzis revisit Welles and Hayworth

A beguiling fairy tale that blends the glamour of Hollywood's golden age with the sultry rituals of cigar smoking.

Sally Heathcote: Suffragette - Mary & Bryan Talbot, Kate Charlesworth

Sally Heathcote: Suffragette is a gripping inside story of the campaign for votes for women. A tale of loyalty, love and courage, set against a vividly realised backdrop of Edwardian Britain, it follows the fortunes of a maid-of-all-work swept up in the f