Email Artswrap on Twitter Artswrap on Facebook


War Horse: Prom 22 commemorates the start of the First World War

In this prom, the commemoration of the First World War continued, marking a century after it began on 3 August 1914.

Luminous Rest: The Tallis Scholars sing Tavener at the Proms

The Tallis Scholars and the Heath Quartet perform the music of John Tavener at the Royal Albert Hall, on the 100th anniversary of the start of Britain's involvement in the First World War.

Prom 19 and Prom 20, review

Vasily Petrenko and the Liverpool Philharmonic opened Prom 19 with two Richard Strauss rarities, the first of which, his Festival Prelude, was pure bombast.

Elgar: Symphony No. 1 - Sakari Oramo, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra

Conducting this all-Elgar programme is Sakari Oramo, the Finnish conductor who has been all but adopted by English music-lovers and orchestras - for ten years he was music director of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, and since 2013 he holds the

Ming Tsao: Pathology of Syntax - Ming Tsao, Arditti Quartet

Ming Tsao is a Chinese-American composer active in Europe. His works have been performed at the Donaueschingen Festival, Wien Modern, Wittener Tage, Maerz Musik and Darmstadt. Tsao's composition teachers include Chaya Czernowin, Brian Ferneyhough and Mari

Kiss Me, Kate transports Prommers to the West End

The John Wilson Orchestra has rapidly established itself as a Proms highlight. Following on from a standout My Fair Lady in 2012, this year's Kiss Me, Kate showed the Orchestra at its very best, with an equally fabulous cast and crew.

BBC Proms War Horse review: 'movingly elegiac'

Serena Davies on the 'beautiful reimagining' of Michael Morpugo's classic story at this year's proms.

BBC Prom 21, Kiss Me, Kate, review: 'fabulous'

This fabulous production of Cole Porter's Kiss Me, Kate was a joy from start to finish, says Ivan Hewett.

Prom 20: Crabb, BBCSO, Brabbins

The first half of last night’s Prom was supposed to be linked by the theme of the First World War, but Anthony Marwood’s illness meant that Sally Beamish’s Violin Concerto, based on All Quiet on the Western Front, had to be replaced at late notice b