Phantom Radio - Mark Lanegan Band

Mark Lanegan's back and his chief compositional tool on Phantom Radio was his phone - specifically an app called Funk Box. "I didn't bother to hook up my 909 and 808 this time," he says, "because the app had 'em. I'd write drum parts with it then add musi

Blood In Blood Out - Exodus

'Blood In Blood Out', Exodus' 10th studio release, continues their fruitful partnership with producer Andy Sneap. The vicious, razor-sharp riffing of guitarist Gary Holt (now also deputising for the sadly-departed Jeff Hanneman in Slayer) is married once

Foxygen: And Star Power review California duo in self-indulgent mood on third LP

If an artist doesn’t have enough viable material to sustain a single album, it’s surely folly to try to release a double, regardless of the virtues of the underlying conceit.

Ex Hex: Rips review majestic power-pop on the air-guitar album of the year

Washington DC alt-rock hotshot Mary Timony has been bashing ears in high style for a couple of decades, previously with Helium, Autoclave and Wild Flag, and now with Ex Hex, whose hit-after-hit debut LP is just deliriously great fun – this has got to be

Exodus: Blood In, Blood Out review feral energy and refined catchiness

(Nuclear Blast)The last two Exodus albums took the Bay Area thrash legends into firmly progressive and contemporary territory, with a bewildering number of riffs piled up like bones on a funeral pyre. While those records confirmed the bands ability to mov

Antemasque - Antemasque

American rockers Antemasque are to release their debut album in the UK for the first time (digitally October 27th/ CD November 24th). Formed earlier this year, the group's debut album includes the tracks 'I got no remorse' and 'Ride like the devil's son'.

Soused - Scott Walker + Sunn O)))

The Skinny described this album as being: "the most straight-ahead album the typically esoteric Walker has offered in years". It includes the tracks 'Brando' and 'Fetish'.

Something On High - Sivu

NME summed up the singer's debut album as Sivu as not "the cheeriest fare". It features the songs 'Better Man Than He' and 'Can't Stop Now'.

Hozier - Hozier

This is the debut album from the Irish singer. It includes the tracks 'Take Me to Church' and 'Someone New'. The Telegraph said: "Hozier mixes his tormented blues with sunny R&B" and gave it five stars. The Guardian gave the album four stars feeling t

Let Loose - The Bloodhounds

This is the debut album from The Bloodhounds featuring the tracks 'Indian Highway' and 'The Wolf'. The band is formed of Aaron 'Little Rock' Piedraita on rhythm guitar, Johnny Santana on bas, Branden Santos on lead guitar and Mark Schafler on drums and pe