Email Artswrap on Twitter Artswrap on Facebook

Rachel Cooke

Philip Larkin: Life, Art and Love review James Booth's life of the poet is wide of the mark

Except when dealing with the poetry itself, James Booth's biography of Philip Larkin reaches some muddled conclusionsAs treasurer of the Oxford English Club, the young Philip Larkin met several famous writers, among them Lord Berners, George Orwell and, m

Marina Abramovic: 'This piece is deeper and more profound than anything I've ever done before'

The performance artist reflects on her marathon Serpentine show, not being marriage material and her legacy.

Through the Woods review Brothers Grimm by way of Patricia Highsmith

Canadian comic artist Emily Carroll compels with her lavishly illustrated gothic talesHaving spent her early childhood listening to her mother's scary stories the worst kind of monsters, she was told, are those that burrow inside a person and eat them al

H is for Hawk review Helen Macdonald's taming of a goshawk called Mabel reads like a thriller

Helen Macdonald's lyrical account of how she coped with the death of her father by training a goshawk is captivating.

This One Is Mine by Maria Semple review Nothing is ever really at stake'

Fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette will be disappointed by the weak characterisation of Semple's first effort, originally published in 2008This One Is Mine is Maria Semple's first novel, the book she published before her funny, dark, tender hit, Where'd Y

On Silbury Hill review Adam Thorpe's odd paean to a Wiltshire chalk mound

The perennially underrated novelist is hard to follow in this earnest fusion of nature, archaeology and memoirThis is a beautiful book. I don't mean the text; we'll come back to that. I mean the book itself, which is the work of Little Toller, a Dorset pu

The Miniaturist review Jessie Burton's much-hyped but unconvincing debut

In spite of some lovely passages and fine research, Jessie Burton's tale of a young woman in 17th-century Amsterdam lacks plausibility.

Legends of the Tour review an illustrated history of cycling's great race

Full of drama, history and daredevilry, Jan Cleijne's beautiful book is a fine taster for this year's Tour de France The 2014 Tour de France begins in Leeds on 5 July , which is pretty exciting if you're a cycling fan. But what to do if you're not? Well,

The Cigar That Fell in Love With a Pipe review David Camus and Nick Abadzis revisit Welles and Hayworth

A beguiling fairy tale that blends the glamour of Hollywood's golden age with the sultry rituals of cigar smoking.

The Moor: Lives, Landscape, Literature review a wonderful book about moorlands and more

The violence, wonder and ghosts of moorland are savoured in this highly engaging account of walks on English moors.