Email Artswrap on Twitter Artswrap on Facebook

Rachel Cooke

Behind the Mask: The Life of Vita Sackville-West review a catalogue of sexual conquests

No salacious detail of her love affairs is spared in an infuriating new life of Vita Sackville-West, the first new biography in 30 yearsVita Sackville-West, the writer and gardener extraordinaire, grew up at Knole in Kent, a house that resembled a medieva

Tracey Emin: Where does that girl go? Where does that youth go?

At 51, and on the eve of a major new exhibition, Tracey Emin talks to Rachel Cooke about mortality, motherhood and why she is so driven.

Anselm Kiefer review remembrance amid the ruins

Anselm Kiefer's monumental work in ash, straw, diamonds and sunflowers dazzles in a superb retrospective.

Women in Dark Times review a wilfully obtuse feminist study

Jacqueline Rose wants her book to be a clarion call for a new feminism. But it is long-winded, precious and paradoxicalIn non-academic circles, Jacqueline Rose, who teaches at the University of London, is best known as the author of the 1991 book, The Hau

Fatherland review an absorbing account of a Serbian fanatic

Nina Bunjevac tackles exile and the horrors of nationalism in this vivid and timely memoirFatherland, a graphic memoir from the same school as Marjane Satrapis Persepolis, is a heartfelt and extremely absorbing examination of exile, reconciliation and des

Philip Larkin: Life, Art and Love review James Booth's life of the poet is wide of the mark

Except when dealing with the poetry itself, James Booth's biography of Philip Larkin reaches some muddled conclusionsAs treasurer of the Oxford English Club, the young Philip Larkin met several famous writers, among them Lord Berners, George Orwell and, m

Marina Abramovic: 'This piece is deeper and more profound than anything I've ever done before'

The performance artist reflects on her marathon Serpentine show, not being marriage material and her legacy.

Through the Woods review Brothers Grimm by way of Patricia Highsmith

Canadian comic artist Emily Carroll compels with her lavishly illustrated gothic talesHaving spent her early childhood listening to her mother's scary stories the worst kind of monsters, she was told, are those that burrow inside a person and eat them al

H is for Hawk review Helen Macdonald's taming of a goshawk called Mabel reads like a thriller

Helen Macdonald's lyrical account of how she coped with the death of her father by training a goshawk is captivating.

This One Is Mine by Maria Semple review Nothing is ever really at stake'

Fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette will be disappointed by the weak characterisation of Semple's first effort, originally published in 2008This One Is Mine is Maria Semple's first novel, the book she published before her funny, dark, tender hit, Where'd Y