Email Artswrap on Twitter Artswrap on Facebook

Rachel Cooke

This One Is Mine by Maria Semple review Nothing is ever really at stake'

Fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette will be disappointed by the weak characterisation of Semple's first effort, originally published in 2008This One Is Mine is Maria Semple's first novel, the book she published before her funny, dark, tender hit, Where'd Y

On Silbury Hill review Adam Thorpe's odd paean to a Wiltshire chalk mound

The perennially underrated novelist is hard to follow in this earnest fusion of nature, archaeology and memoirThis is a beautiful book. I don't mean the text; we'll come back to that. I mean the book itself, which is the work of Little Toller, a Dorset pu

The Miniaturist review Jessie Burton's much-hyped but unconvincing debut

In spite of some lovely passages and fine research, Jessie Burton's tale of a young woman in 17th-century Amsterdam lacks plausibility.

Legends of the Tour review an illustrated history of cycling's great race

Full of drama, history and daredevilry, Jan Cleijne's beautiful book is a fine taster for this year's Tour de France The 2014 Tour de France begins in Leeds on 5 July , which is pretty exciting if you're a cycling fan. But what to do if you're not? Well,

The Cigar That Fell in Love With a Pipe review David Camus and Nick Abadzis revisit Welles and Hayworth

A beguiling fairy tale that blends the glamour of Hollywood's golden age with the sultry rituals of cigar smoking.

The Moor: Lives, Landscape, Literature review a wonderful book about moorlands and more

The violence, wonder and ghosts of moorland are savoured in this highly engaging account of walks on English moors.

A Curious Career review sharp cuts from Lynn Barber

Lynn Barber's incisive interviews, recalled in this entertaining memoir, simply define the genre.

Montague Terrace by Warren and Gary Pleece - review

This book, brought to you by Warren and Gary Pleece, two legends of the British comics scene, is completely demented. But I like it all the same. Its title, Montague Terrace, comes from the block of flats in which it's set, a decaying art deco ocean liner

Turned Out Nice Again by Richard Mabey - review

Richard Mabey explores our relationship with the changeable British weather with thoughtful elegance In 1577, Thomas Hill wrote a popular manual called The Gardener's Labyrinth , in which, among other things, he gave his readers advice about how to tu

The Murder Mile by Paul Collicutt - review

When SelfMadeHero, the brilliant publisher of graphic novels and biographies, got in touch to tell me that its latest book was called The Murder Mile, I wasn't sure what to expect. Had someone drawn a cartoon about the Lower Clapton Road in Hackney, circa